One Week To Go

Standard

This time next week, my surgery will hopefully be over. After such a long time waiting (I began a countdown chart over eight weeks ago), it’s a bit weird thinking that there aren’t many days left now before I’ll be straight again! (Or at least straighter.) Because it all feels a bit unreal, I’m not actually nervous. I’m sure that will change at some point, though, so I’ll enjoy it while I can!

I can’t really imagine not being wonky any more. Because my spine’s curve has happened gradually, I’ve just got used to how it feels to be crooked all the time, and I can’t even really remember what it feels like to stand straight, or not have my ribs sticking out on one side. It will definitely be strange when all that is changed. I might even miss feeling crooked! (Although I’m pretty sure I won’t miss my rib hump…)

Anyway! Mum suggested that I should show you all some photos of my back. We’ve been taking photos every few months, which has made it easier to see how much the curve has progressed. I won’t put them all up, but here are three photos, which should give you an idea of what it all looks like.

Admittedly the photos are not all from exactly the same angles, but they should still give you a general impression of how it is.

I’m afraid that there isn’t anything particularly interesting to share on here right now. I’ve got one last appointment up at Starship on Friday morning, and then I’ll be admitted next Monday afternoon, with surgery the next morning. Hopefully we’ll be able to find out a few things on Friday, such as how easy it will be to access the internet for Mum to post updates and such.

Thank you all so much for your comments on my first post. They have been really encouraging. It’s so amazing to know that there are so many people supporting and praying for me and my family. Thank you! ♥

I will probably put another post up after my appointment on Friday, but we are pretty busy from then on, so I won’t make any rash promises!

9 responses »

  1. Hi, I’m the Scottish mum at choir – mum of Caelan on the crutches! Just wanted to say how much I appreciate you including me in the opportunity to read your posts. Your mum has talked with me recently about your op. but not until seeing the x-ray and these photos do I realise the huge significance this must be for you. We have also seen more of Starship than we would like recently – however, I knew what idiopathic meant when you wrote last!!! (Caelan has Juvenille Idiopathic Arthritis)!! Although we are on a very different journey to yours (treatment with medicine, rather than surgery), I am encouraged by your strength and passion for God through this difficult time. May you truly know God’s peace through this time and know that ‘God’s not given you a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind’ (sorry, too tired to find the ref! I’m sure you know it!). Love your brightly coloured blog page! God bless you and you are in our thoughts and prayers. With love, Sheena

  2. Hey there Right-Angle Girl. It’s a great idea to keep a blog of this proceedure to let people like me (who up until now have not had the slighest idea of what scoliosis is) know what you are going through and how things are progressing. And thumbs up to you for the creativeness and sheer readability of this blog – you do have something of a flair for creative writing there Right-Angle Girl! Anyway, I know that today you will be heading up to Auckland so here’s God blessings for a safe journey, and all the very best for tomorrow’s proceedure. We all at our house will be praying for you and asking God’s best for you in your recovery and rehabilitation. God bless. Craig Anderson.

  3. praying for you Ruth …. not long now. hope you are settling in ok at Starship…..sounds like something out of Star Trek…..trusting the doctors are from planet earth and not from outer space….lol. love to your mum and dad and the girls. xo

  4. Hi! I’m fifteen, and I live in England, and I’m having this surgery either iin two weeks but definitely by the endof september – scary stuff! I can’t say I’m majorly worried abou tthe operation it self, but there were a few things I wondered if I could ask you. First, I’m not a massive fan of needles, which I know is quite rubbish considering, but how many needles will I be ‘subjected’ to? (ish) also, for the pre operation appointment, what happens? And do you have any advice for this whole situation? i feel like I’m giving you questions ten to the dozen! I’m a christian aswell, so really hoping he looks after me, and I’m glad he helped support you and your family! xx

Leave a Reply

